No change at the top after weekend elections

Tony Ennis remains as chairman of the Association of Irish Riding Clubs after he was re-elected at a meeting of the Board of Directors on Saturday.

Ennis was first elected to the post in 2003 and is one of the longest-serving office holders after he surpassed Carl Geisler and Eddie Fowler last year, who held the post in the seventies and eighties.

Dublin-based Kevin McGuinness was returned as vice-chairman, a post he was first elected to in 2010.

Meanwhile Ennis along with Dermot Brislane and Grainne Healy were voted by the National Committee to serve another three-year term on the Board of Directors (Executive Committee) after an election took place on Saturday.

Peter Roberts, former chairman of the Association, was also on the ballot paper but failed to garner sufficient support to take one of the seats.

Election Results 18th February 2017


The elections took place prior to the annual general meeting of the Association of Irish Riding Clubs at The Killeshin Hotel in Portlaoise, Co. Laois.

During the AGM, Helen Mangan was returned unopposed as president for the honorary position for another term, a post she has held since 2005. Gerry Thompson was also returned unopposed for vice president position for another year.

Latest News

Featured Video

Earl's Well Riding Club won The Irish Field sponsored Musical Ride Dressage at the Riding Clubs Festival on Saturday 10th June 2017 at Stradbally Hall Estate, Co. Laois

Like us on Facebook